Fiesta de los Vaqueros

I make sure to attend the rodeo parade every year since it reminds me of when I was younger.

My mother, my siblings and I would ride the bus to the Rodeo Parade Grounds. The excitement was contagious and the energy was always high. I remember the aromas of carne asada and Sonoran Style Hot Dogs. The street vendors walked around selling toy swords, cowboy and cowgirl hats, jewelry, and various knick-knacks. The children anxious for the parade to begin ran around in the park across the street. Once the parade began, I was always anxious to wait for my favorite: the marching bands. The rhythmic beats and the uniformity always impressed me. My sisters loved the horses and my brother loved the mascots.  It’s good to have these memories come alive every year.

Leave a Reply

