My summer at World Care

I think I had the most random summer job ever.

I had my summer internship at World Care this summer. I didn’t know what World Care was. Turns out, it is an amazing organization that helps out so many people in the community and around the world. I am so glad to have the opportunity to touch people’s lives and help them. This summer, Arizona had a disastrous summer with the enormous wildfires that scarred our wildlife and people. So many homes were burnt down and maybe people left with nothing. At World Care, as first responders to natural disasters, we collected donations and shipped many necessities to those in need. I also learned about the many programs that World Care has. They have a Tools for School program that helps students and schools in need of school supplies and text books. We have a Free Loaner program for anyone in need of medical assistance where they can get wheel chairs, walkers, crutches, etc. if their health insurance won’t pay for it. We also have a recycling program for computers where we take apart computers, fix them, or sell pieces that can be reused. We also have a thrift store where we sell goods to benefit our programs and keep giving back to the community and there  If you are interested in more information, here is the website: http://www.worldcare.org/index.html

The only not so fun thing was taking the 6:30 bus every morning.

In my personal experience, I had a wonderful time learning how to take apart computers, learning how to keep track of shipments, being in charge of the store, and even learning how to paint. I had a great time with my coworkers and I even managed to make a great friend, Ashley. I will certainly miss World Care and I am sure I will return to volunteer and shop. We have some great memories for the random donations and the fun times.



Leave a Reply

